Patient Reviews

Reviews for Sioux Falls, SD Principal Researcher Dr. John Berdahl

Filter21 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from Z.P.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 13, 2020

I fell that there is no place I would rather trust my eyes to than Dr. Berdahl & Dr. Schweitzer at VTV. I started coming there 4 years ago for Cataracts in both eyes & discovered I also had Glaucoma. Since then I’ve had Lasik both eyes, glaucoma medicine & followup by them when I came in every 3 days to get pressures down! PTK was a snap. I have to admit that from the Dr.’s to the nurses, even the wonderful girls at the desk for check ins everyone is on their game , pleasant, knowledgeable & willing to help in any way! Give VTV 5Stars More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 13, 2020

Everyone was very friendly and helpful. From the doctors to the receptionists, I had no complaints about their attitude and knowledge. Dr. Berdahl definitely made me feel at ease, since I was a bit nervous about the procedure. Would highly recommend this clinic! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 28, 2019

I had LASIK at Vance Thompson Vision. My local eye doctor knew of Vance Thompson's reputation and I knew that I would be in good hands. I was treated like a VIP from the moment I arrived, until the moment I left to catch my flight back home. I am so grateful to Dr. Berdahl and his team at VTV for my new vision, and giving me more of my life back. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 22, 2019

I had LASIK at Vance Thompson Vision.My local eye doctor knew of Vance Thompson's reputation and I knew that I would be in good hands.I was treated like a VIP from the moment I arrived, until the moment I left to catch my flight back home.I am so grateful to Dr. Berdahl and his team at VTV for my new vision, and giving me more of my life back. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 20, 2019

I flew in from Seattle WA to have LASIK performed by Dr. Berdahl at Vance Thompson Vision. From the moment I walked in, I was greeted warmly greeted. Their lobby eschews a traditional waiting room configuration and instead is setup more like coffee shop, including fresh baked cookies, coffee, fruit, and soda. Everyone there was friendly and took time to answer any and all questions. They explained the procedure step by step, went over the aftercare instructions. The whole time my comfort was the primary concern. The outcome of the surgery couldn't have been any better resulting in 20/15 eye. I'm so thrilled to be glasses and contact free. Thank you Dr. Berdahl! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 29, 2019

Without doubt, my complete experience at Vance Thompson Vision has been above and beyond compare. Every single person with whom I had contact was totally awesome - from the moment I called requesting an appointment through my departure from day-after-surgery check up. Sarah, Steph, Stephanie, Aimee, Dr. Ibach, Dr. Berdahl, Gideon, Chris, Becky, Jeremy . . . and just everyone! What an amazingly gracious team you have on board.Thank you for all the smiles, delightful communications, for uplifting my spirits, and giving me hope. I loved the surgery serenade, Dr. Berdahl and Surgical Team. Jeremy, I'm excited about staying in touch and learning everything possible about the Equinox study. Couldn't be more exciting news for the glaucoma crowd Go Team!Warmly,Jeanne Deller More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 28, 2019

Without doubt, my complete experience at Vance Thompson Vision has been above and beyond compare. Every single person with whom I had contact was totally awesome - from the moment I called requesting an appointment through my departure from day-after-surgery check up. Sarah, Steph, Stephanie, Aimee, Dr. Ibach, Dr. Berdahl, Gideon, Chris, Becky, Jeremy . . . and just everyone! What an amazingly gracious team you have on board. Thank you for all the smiles, delightful communications, for uplifting my spirits, and giving me hope. I loved the surgery serenade, Dr. Berdahl and Surgical Team. Jeremy, I'm excited about staying in touch and learning everything possible about the Equinox study. Couldn't be more exciting news for the glaucoma crowd Go Team! Warmly, Jeanne Deller More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 01, 2019

As an eye surgeon I didn't consider any other place to have my eye surgery than at Vance Thompson Vision. I have known Dr. Thompson and his fellow surgeons and employees for nearly 30 years. They epitomize the concept of team approach to service and perform it better than any other place. It was a pleasure to experience their service first hand. Friendliness and caring from the moment you walk in. Expedited service where your personal team technician takes you from the waiting room (after a very short wait) and performs all the testing required for the surgeon and optometrist to analyze the problems and present the solutions. Dr. Berdahl is internationally famous and for good reason. He is knowledgeable and skillful. I did not feel a thing and my results so far are better than expected. They treat their employees and patients exceptionally well and it shows. It was well worth the trip from Utah. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.C.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 14, 2019

As an eye surgeon, I made the decision to travel from Utah to Sioux Falls to have Dr. John Berdahl perform my surgery. I was able to experience their famous team approached to patient service and care. Amazing! Such nice and caring people who are so skilled at what they do and sincerely care about people and patients. My results so far are better than anticipated! These are the leaders in the country on customer service and treating employees and patients exceptionally well! Isn't this what doctoring is all about or should be?? Kudos VTV! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 29, 2019

Everything about the experience was great. The staff is so pleasant and welcoming, from the checkin to the checkout. The surgery staff is exceptional in their ability to put you at ease, be informative as to the process and what to expect. Dr. Berdahl was down to earth and not aloof. He made me feel comfortable knowing I was in good hands. It was an overall excellent experience. The result is that I can see the world clearer, brighter and no longer in a sepia fog. I would not hestitate to recommend Vance Thompson Vision to my friends and family. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.L.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Dec 14, 2018

From the receptionist to Dr. Berdahl the nicest and most caring people you will ever meet. Make you feel like you are the most important person there. Rod K. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Dec 04, 2018

I had both cataracts removed. The only reason I was willing to do the second one is because the first was the easiest procedure I have ever been through! LOL!! Dr. Berdahl’s team really put my nerves at ease!! Highly recommend this facility...from start to finish!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.W.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Dec 01, 2018

The staff is awesome, Dr Berdahl’s team is amazing, as is Dr Berdahl. I am treated like family and I love it! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.F.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 08, 2018

At my age (class of 67) that dreaded night blindness crept into my life and I was directed to Vance Thompson Vision. Upon walking to the front desk and was instantly put at ease as they greeted me like I was the most important person there. Long story short I was asked if I would like to participate in an FDA study project and met up with Dr. Berdahl, whose enthusiasm to help me was contagious and put me at ease . He really blew me away following my surgery when he sent m...e a text that evening, that if I had any questions or concerns during the night to call him on his cell?!! , WOW, Everyone that I have come in contact there seem to follow his lead as all have been great, especially my Study Group "Boss" , Samantha who has kept me on schedule, informed and my favorite Patsy Cline tunes in the background. Her Parents must be so Proud ! I walked in with basically 20 / 60+ vision and even though I am still recovering I am already at 20/25 and the world is so bright. The glasses have been tossed and I'm loven it! I was asked how I felt at my last followup and the only thing I could say was "FANTABULUS"!! , More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 29, 2018

I am absolutely amazed with my vision after LASIK surgery at Vance Thompson Vision. Until I no longer had to wear them, I didn't realize how much contact lenses were irritating my eyes and making them feel dry. I had surgery in the late afternoon on a Thursday and was at work at 7am Friday morning with 20/15 vision. I cannot say enough about how wonderful my experience has been. I would recommend Dr. Berdahl and Vance Thompson Vision over and over again, it truly is a world class establishment! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 29, 2018

Vance Thompson Vision: COMFORTIBLE and PROFESSIONAL. I had eye surgery done at Vance Thompson Vision. It did exactly what they said it would and it eliminated my need for glasses. It was very comfortable and professional from the waiting areas to the finished product. I would definitely recommend them. Feel free to contact me. DEL JOHNKE More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 19, 2017

Dr. Berdahl performed my LASIK eye surgery and I am 100% satisfied. Dr. Berdahl and all of his staff have treated me so well throughout the process of consultation, surgery, and post-op check ups. I went in to see if I qualified for surgery in May of 2016 and was able to schedule surgery in early June 2016. They were thorough with their explanations as well as making me feel comfortable through the process. Within 24 hours I had 20/20 vision and a year later I have 20/15. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.W.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Apr 25, 2017

I recently had stents implanted for glaucoma and cataract surgery at the same time. Dr. Berdahl and Dr. Ibach were great to deal with. Everyone at VTV was friendly and professional. I would recommend VTV for anyone that needs help for their eyes. I didn't know going to a clinic could be such a great experience. Amazingly, I can see better that ever -- like in 60+ years. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 29, 2016

I had a fantastic experience getting PRK at Vance Thompson Vision. Dr. Ibach did a great job of explaining how everything was going to go and Dr. Berdahl was awesome when it came to the actual procedure. Everyone I came across at the office was pleasant and professional. All things considered it was the best medical experience I've ever had. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 29, 2015

Dr. Berdahl and his team at Vance Thompson Vision are amazing! They have a very welcoming, knowledgeable, and friendly staff who make you feel at home and cared for. I have always wanted to be free from glasses and contacts. I now see 20/15 after my LASIK surgery. Being able to see right away when I wake up is amazing! If you want your vision corrected by world renowned surgeons with the best possible laser technology, trust Vance Thompson Vision. I am very pleased with the whole experience with Vance Thompson Vision, and today I am glasses and contacts free! I tell everyone how great that place is! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.A.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jul 09, 2015

I don't even know what to say. From initial contact with the office my experience has been top-notch. Everyone has gone out of their way to help me in any way that they can. When I arrived for my appointment this morning the receptionist was super and offered to help however she could. Everyone was so polite to both me and my mom, who was with me because I don't drive [I'm in a wheelchair]. Sarah, the tech who was helping Dr. Berdahl, was so sweet and tried to make things as ...easy as possible. Both Dr. Berdahl and Dr. Schweitzer had the best bedside manners. They understood my frustrations, they didn't treat me like an invalid because of the wheelchair, they explained everything thoroughly and they made sure that I was comfortable with the plan before we proceeded with anything. Dr Schweitzer came up with a possible issue that nobody else had ever thought of before and, as a result, we were able to attempt laser surgery that we had never even considered as a possibility previously. And Dr. Berdahl asked me more than once if everyone was being nice and treating me with respect. I have never in my life been treated with as much compassion and care and I received in your office today. I will DEFINITELY refer any of my friends and family to your office and I will be telling my primary care provider and my regular optometrist that if they ever need to refer to an ophthalmologist, Dr Berdahl and his team are the best in my opinion. Thanks for a great appointment!! More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.

}